Arabica refers to Coffea Arabica, the taxonomic species name of the genus responsible for around 75% of the world's commercial coffee crop. Coffea Arabica is a woody perennial evergreen that belongs to the Rubiaceae family (same family as Gardenia). The other major commercial crop is Coffea Canephora, known as Robusta coffee. Arabica and Robusta differ in terms of genetics and taste. While Robusta coffee beans are more disease-resistant than the Arabica, they generally produce an inferior tasting beverage and has more caffeine. Coffea arabica is a tetraploid (44 chromosomes) and is self-pollinating, whereas Robusta is diploid with 22 chromosomes. There are 2 main botanical cultivars of Arabica: C. Arabica Var. Arabica (Typica) and C. Arabica Var. Bourbon. Arabica was used originally to indicate Arab origins because coffee was taken from Yemen to the Dutch colony Batavia on the island of Java (via India), although C. Arabica originates in the Western Ethiopian region of Kaffa. The taxonomy for Arabica coffee is:

Kingdom Plantae – Plants

Subkingdom Tracheobionta – Vascular plants

Superdivision Spermatophyta – Seed plants

Division Magnoliophyta – Flowering plants

Class Magnoliopsida – Dicotyledons

Subclass Asteridae

Order Rubiales

Family Rubiaceae – Madder family

Genus Coffea L. – coffee

Species Coffea arabica L. – Arabian coffee

See also: Abyssinia, Arusha, Ateng, Blue Mountain Cultivar, Bourbon, Caffeine, Catimor, Catuai, Caturra, Charrieriana, Cultivar, Hibrido de Timor, Icatu, Laurina, Liberica, Maracatu, Maragogype, Mundo Novo, Onan Ganjang, Origin Flavor, Pacamara, Pacas, Pache, Robusta, S-Line, S.288, S795, Sarchimor, Sidikalang, Stenophylla, Tannic, Typica, Varietal